Archival Collections
The College Archives Center is located in the Learning Resources Center. It serves as the official, long-term repository for the historical records and documents of the College.
The mission of the Archives is to document the academic, administrative, social and cultural history of Denmark Technical College by collecting, preserving, and providing access to materials of permanent historical value throughout the institution and the community.
Many of the collections have only preliminary inventories, but all of the collections have at least limited access. Collection topics include history of Denmark Technical College. Information from the collection has been used by authors, journalists, genealogists, historians, academics, and state agencies for publications, documentaries, family histories, exhibits, academic research, and other uses.
The Archives Collection is located in the library. For questions or access to the collection contact the Dean’s Office (fortsonc@denmarktech.edu) or by phone 803-780-7111. The operating hours are Monday – Thursday, 8:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.; Friday 8:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.
HISTORY OF DENMARK TECHNICAL COLLEGE
The College is located in Denmark, South Carolina, a small city of approximately 3,500 citizens. Serving the citizens of Bamberg, Barnwell, and Allendale Counties, Denmark Technical College is open to serve students throughout the state of South Carolina. The campus stands on 53 beautifully landscaped acres of land conveniently located about 50 miles south of Columbia, S.C., 85 miles northeast of Charleston, S.C., and 50 miles east of Augusta, Georgia.
In his inaugural address to the State Legislature, at the beginning of his term of office, Governor J. Strom Thurmond urged that a program designed to offer training in the various trades be instituted in South Carolina. The State Legislature, in the closing days of its 1947 session of the General Assembly, passed an Act to promote and equalize educational facilities for youths interested in trades and industries and to provide for the establishment, maintenance and operation of Area Trade Schools. This Act established the Area Trade Schools across the state of South Carolina. Article XI, Section 7 of the South Carolina Constitution of 1895 stipulated that “separate schools shall be provided for the children of the white and colored races, and no child of either race shall be permitted to attend a school provided for children of the other race.” Being cognizant of the above Act and Article XI, Section 7 of the South Carolina Constitution of 1895, it was incumbent upon the State to establish a school for whites and a school for Negroes. It was decided at that time that the school for whites would be located in Columbia, South Carolina and the school for Negroes would be located in Denmark, South Carolina.
DONATING MATERIAL TO THE ARCHIVES
If you have materials that fit within the collection guidelines and you wish to donate items to the Archives, please contact Carolyn Fortson, Dean of Library Services, 803-780-7111, fortsonc@denmarktech.edu. The Archives only accept archival materials which will remain permanently in the Archives.
The Archives does not accept items not directly related to the College’s history.
The Archives does not provide appraisals for archival collections.
VIEW PRESIDENTIAL HISTORY TIMELINE